WILD 102 Radio is Roseau Minnesota's Good. Local. Radio

4-H auction scholarship winners announced


51 youth leaders with 4-H animal science projects awarded 4-H Auction scholarships

CRYSTAL LAKE, Minn. — The recipients of the 2020 MLBA Purple Ribbon 4-H Auction Scholarships were announced during the 4-H Auction Scholarship Awards Program on Labor Day, September 7, which was done in a virtual format.  A total of 51 youth leaders with 4-H animal science projects were awarded 4-H Auction scholarships this year, with $87,000 in total scholarship donations being awarded during the program. The YouTube link to watch the 4-H Auction Scholarship Award Program can be accessed via the MLBA Purple Ribbon 4-H Auction website at: https://mnpurpleribbonauction.org

The cancellation of the 2020 Minnesota State Fair meant the cancellation of the 41st annual MLBA Purple Ribbon 4-H Auction during the State Fair, according to Kent Thiesse, 4-H Auction Finance Chair. Thiesse said that one popular tradition that was able continue was the awarding of the 4-H Auction Scholarships in 2020, which was mainly due to the support of 57 businesses, organizations, and individuals that were donors of the 4-H Auction scholarships this year. The matching funds for 2020 scholarships were generously donated by Ames Construction of Burnsville, MN, a long-time major supporter of the 4-H Auction. The scholarships are sponsored by the Minnesota Livestock Breeders’ Association (MLBA), in conjunction with Minnesota 4-H and the State Purple Ribbon 4-H Auction Committee.

The 4-H Auction scholarships are awarded to 4-H animal science project members that graduated from high school in either 2019 or 2020 and are pursuing either a 4-year or 2-year college degree. The 4-H Auction Scholarship program was initiated in 1995 with one $500 scholarship. In 2020, the scholarships that were awarded included: 5-$4,000 scholarships, 21-$2,000 scholarships, and 25-$1,000 scholarships. Thiesse indicated that since its inception in 1995, the 4-H Auction Scholarship Program has now awarded $613,000 in scholarships to 439 outstanding 4-H members.

The winners of the $4,000 scholarships in 2020 were: Isaac Berg, Pipestone County; Zoey Schentzel; Dakota County, Emma Smith, Dakota County; Sawyer Otto, Redwood County; and Megan Schultz, Fillmore County.

(A complete list of all 2020 4-H Auction scholarship winners and the scholarship donors are on the attached pages.)

For more information on the 4-H Auction Scholarship Program, please contact

Kent Thiesse, MLBA 4-H Purple Ribbon Auction Finance Chair, at 507-381-7960

or Steve Pooch, Minnesota Livestock Breeders’ Association (MLBA) Secretary at




*** Overall 4-H Auction Scholarship Donor — Ames Construction ***

$4,000 Scholarships          County               Donor

Isaac Berg                           Pipestone           Cargill Animal Nutrition

Zoey Schentzel                    Dakota               CorTrust Bank

Emma Smith                        Dakota               Cargill Animal Nutrition

Megan Schultz                     Fillmore              Don McClure Sky Ride

Sawyer Otto                         Redwood           O’Sullivan Auctioneers & O’Sullivan

Cattle Inc.

$2,000 Scholarships          County               Donor

Emma Loveless                   Steele                 Pipestone Grain

Isaac Rott                            Olmsted              Cambridge Technologies

Lexie Ignaszewski               Steele                 Protein Sources Milling

Samantha Larson                Murray                Fast Genetics

Kelton Rozeboom                Washington        Independent Community Bankers of MN

Devin Dohrmann                  Dodge                Big Gain

Emily Bollum                        Mower                Cemstone Products

Luke Borst                           Olmsted              Altenburg Construction

Madelyn Wehe                    Goodhue             Corn Roast, Brad & Lori Ribar

Jordann Schneekloth          Jackson               Compeer Financial

Kendra Waldenberger         Houston               Mouth Trap Cheese Curds

Hannah Faulhaber               Dodge                 Hog Slat

Bailee Schiefelbein              Meeker                Riverview LLP

Brenna Connelly                  Olmsted               MN Farm Bureau

Isabella Patterson                Goodhue             MN Pork Board

Adrienne Lipinski                  Meeker               Topigs Norsvin USA

Emily Jopp                            Stearns               Midwest Machinery

Owen Scheffler                     Goodhue             Federated Coops

Daniel Williamson                 Meeker                MN Farmers Union

Ella Bauer                             Dodge                 LA-CO Industries

Andrew Sheehan                  Renville               Michael Dove & Gary Koch

$1,000 Scholarships          County               Donor

Sara Gartner                        Blue Earth          Steve Pooch & Kent Thiesse

Nathan Orban                      Freeborn             MN Youth Livestock Expo

Michael Moline                     Nicollet               Fast Genetics/NuWay K &H Cooperative

Grace Britton                        Waseca              MN Simmental Assn.

Hannah Braaten                   Pope                   Ag Country Farm Credit Services

Katie Fitzgerald                    Goodhue             Mark & Jamie Purfeerst

Mikayla Schlosser                Carver                 Anderson Seeds

Josephine Jenson                Goodhue             Hormel Foods

Caroline Mayer                     Fillmore               Lindeland Farms, Lac Lindeland Family

Anna Prchal                          LeSueur              Blake & Sheryl Meshke Family

Landrie Walz                         Benton               Commodity & Ingredient Hedging

McKenna Schroht                 Steele                 Fast Genetics/NuWay K&H Cooperative

Hannah Streich                     Lac Qui Parle     Bellingham Farmers Elevator

Matthew Betcher                  Goodhue             Ag Partners

Russell Hellendrung             Brown                  M Molding, Rob & Gail Moline

Isabella O’Brien                    Dodge                 MN Corn Growers

Kelsey Biel                           Fillmore               Davis Family Dairies

Branstyn Peterson               Sibley                  Jeff & Diane Hawkins

Paige Boesl                         Douglas               Jake & Lindsay Grass

Ethan Varilek                       Jackson               Extended Ag Services & Steve Resler

Emily Dahlbeck                    Dakota                Byron Anderson in memory of Helen


Madison Luebke                  Goodhue             Weichman Pig Co. & Strategic Pork


Whitney Elbers                     Rock                   Juanita Reed Boniface & Dick Boniface/

Mary Bennett Kriva & MN Cattlewomen

Aaron Peterson                    Kittson                Sweet Martha’s Cookie Jar & Schroder


Eileen Otto                           Wright                 Professional Ag Marketing & MN State

Fair Concessionaires

The 4-H Auction Scholarships are sponsored and coordinated by the MN Livestock Breeders Assn. Purple Ribbon 4-H Auction Committee

Last modified: 09/11/2020

Comments are closed.